Posted on

The Supply Teacher

You try to keep your head up
But it won’t stand.
So then I prop your chin up
In the palm of my hand.
Your eyelids begin to droop
So I hold them open – Oop
Your head’s lolling yet again
And my brain loops the loop.

A voice calls a name.
It’s probably yours –
Your teacher says it’s “A shame.
Please just listen.” Of course.

Now I’m trying to sit up
And you begin to slouch.
Teacher huddles in the corner
In a desperate sort of crouch.

She continues to speak:
“How on earth do I keep
My sanity intact?”

But our ears start to leak.
It can’t matter – we’re asleep
And that’s a fact.

About chasingwoozles

I am a writer. Passionate about music, doing various random creative things, and making people laugh!

Leave a Reply

